ILLINOIS PHYSICS Condensate is a semiannual publication of the Department of Physics at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Each issue is distributed in print to about 7,000 alumni by mail. The online edition of the magazine provides a forum for alumni, faculty, and students to share their stories and pictures and to support greater engagement in the Illinois Physics community.

Matthias Grosse Perdekamp
Professor and Head

Celia Elliott
Director, External Affairs and Special Projects

Jana Zollinger
Director of Advancement

Siv Schwink
Communications Coordinator
Managing Editor, Illinois Physics Condensate

Jessica Raley
Technical Writing Instructor and ICASU Outreach Coordinator 
Editor, Illinois Physics Condensate

The success of our department is measured by the accomplishments of our alumni.

Stay in touch!

To get our latest news, please update your contact information at go.physics.illinois.edu/alumni.


Please send us your comments or ideas for future stories!
You may upload files using the submissions form on this site, or reach out to

Siv Schwink


Physics Advisory Board

Richard Ahrenkiel, Research Professor, Colorado School of Mines

Meigan Aronson, Dean, Faculty of Science, University of British Columbia

David Awschalom, Liew Family Professor in Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago

James Bray, Chief Scientist, Power Conservation Systems, General Electric

Lewis "Lonnie" Edelheit, Senior Vice President R&D, General Electric Company (retired)

Brand Fortner, Adjunct Physics Professor and Teaching Professor, North Carolina State University

James C. Garland, President Emeritus, Miami University

Donald Gubser, Retired Superintendent, Naval Research Laboratory

George Laramore, Radiation Oncologist, University of Washington Medical Center

Laurie McNeil, Bernard Gray Distinguished Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

David Mortara, President, Mortara Instrument Inc.

Sam Petuchowski, Partner, Sunstein Kann Murphy & Timbers LLP

Serge Rudaz, Principal Scientist, Philips Lumileds Lighting (retired)

Terry Smith, Senior Staff Scientist, 3M

Gay Stewart, Eberly Professor of STEM Education, West Virginia University

Basil Tripsas, Senior Research Scientist, Center for Naval Analyses (retired)

Mark Zediker, Chief Technology Officer, Foro Energy